Day Two: Reading a New Book Every Day to My 5-Month Old

An international adventure — Paris: A Book of Shapes by Ashley Evanson

Elizabeth Demolat
2 min readDec 12, 2022
Photo taken by article’s author

Another fun day of reading with my baby. To see a quick explanation of this series, check out Day 1.

Today, we’re reading Paris: A Book of Shapes by Ashley Evanson.

The Review: Paris: A Book of Shapes by Ashley Evanson

As the name implies Paris: A Book of Shapes introduces readers to different shapes set throughout the famous French city. As a person who loves visiting France, this was such a fun book to read to my daughter. The premise is very simple. You find the shapes in scenes like the Eiffel Tower and the Louvre. There aren’t too many words, and it’s easy to read. The illustrations are streamlined but pretty.

At this stage, reading this book with my baby involves me pointing to things and her just looking, which is one of her favorite things to do anyway. I imagine this book will be even more fun as she gets older. There’s a whole series of similar books called Hello World that introduce concepts like colors, numbers, and days of the week.

I picked this one up from a thrift store. I’ll keep my eye out for more as my baby gets older because they seem like they’ll be both educational and fun.

Rating: 4.5/5

--

--

Elizabeth Demolat

Lover of books, adventures, friends, dancing, muffins, France, camp fires, and Ole Miss. And, I teach.